Blofield Parish Council

Minutes of the virtual Annual Parish Council Meeting (APCM) held on Monday 13th July 2020 at 7.00pm -7:40pm. All voting took place by a show of hands on the screen, then confirmed verbally by the assistant clerk.

PRESENT

Rob Christie, Stuart Smith, Sarah Dhesi, Mary Moxon, Paul Culley-Barber, Yvonne Burton, Pat Wilson, Stella Shackle (joined at item 3), Sarah Osbaldeston (Clerk), Melanie Eversfield (Assistant Clerk).

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION TO THE MEETING BY THE CHAIR ROB CHRISTIE

1.1. All councillors were welcomed to the meeting, there were no members of the public present.

2. ELECTION OF CHAIR

- 2.1. Rob Christie proposed (seconded by Sarah Dhesi) Stuart Smith be elected for the role of chair of the Parish Council. No further nominations were put forward.
- 2.2. The council unanimously approved the proposal and Stuart Smith was duly elected to chair of the council for the forthcoming year. Stuart Smith signed the acceptance of office form and took the role of chair for the rest of the meeting.

Stella Shackle joined the meeting

3. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

3.1. Nominations for the role of Vice Chair were requested; Rob Christie and Sarah Dhesi were both proposed. Following some discussion, it was proposed that both Rob Christie and Sarah Dhesi serve as vice chairs for the following year. This proposal was unanimously approved by everyone present. The Vice Chairs duly signed the acceptance of office form.

4. TO ACCEPT APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

4.1. Joseph Scholes sent his apologies which were accepted by the council.

5. TO REMIND ALL COUNCILLORS TO REVIEW AND RE-SIGNED THE CODE OF CONDUCT FORM IN MARCH

5.1. The Clerk (SO) reminded the councillors to sign the code of conduct document issued in March and expressed the importance of this document.

6. ELECTION OF TWO PLANNING LEADS -

6.1. Stella Shackle proposed (seconded by Sarah Dhesi) the council appoint Paul Culley-Barber and Mary Moxon. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.

7. TO APPOINT VILLAGE HALL REPRESENTATIVES:

- 7.1. Stella Shackle proposed (seconded by Rob Christie) the council appoint Joseph Scholes and Sarah Dhesi as the two Margaret Harker Hall representatives. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.
- 7.2. Sarah Dhesi proposed (seconded by Paul Culley-Barber) the council appoint Stella Shackle and Rob Christie as the two Court House representatives. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.
- 7.3. Sarah Dhesi proposed (seconded by Stella Shackle) the council appoint Yvonne Burton and Stuart Smith as the two Heathlands Community Centre representatives. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.

8. TO APPOINT THE PARISH COUNCIL TRUSTEE FOR HEATHLANDS COMMUNITY CENTRE

8.1. The parish council unanimously resolved to keep this position open until a parishioner is found for the role.

9. TO APPOINT THE HALL PROJECT WORKING GROUP

9.1. Yvonne Burton proposed (seconded by Paul Culley-Barber) the village hall representatives form this group again. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.

10. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES:

- 10.1. **TO NOTE BLOFIELD FUEL CHARITY TRUSTEES** The council noted that in August 2019 the council appointed David Pilch, Glenna Butler, Pat Wilson and Stephen Mitchell as the 4 fuel Charity trustees for the next 4 years. These positions will be appointed again in May 2023. The council noted that the clerk for the charity is appointed by the trustees not the parish council (a new clerk has recently been appointed). The council also noted that the 5th trustee is an ex-officio trustee and is always the rector of Parish, currently Kevin Bilson.
- 10.2. **APPOINTMENT OF TWO REVE FOUNDATION CHARITY TRUSTEES** it has been brought to the council's attention that trustees elected serve for 3 years. Therefore, Yvonne Burton and Brenda Dawson elected in May 2019 will serve until May 2022. Any earlier changes to this will require a request to the parish council from the trustees.
- 10.3. **APPOINTMENT OF TWO RELIEF-IN-NEED CHARITY TRUSTEES** it has been brought to the council's attention that trustees elected serve for 3 years. Therefore, Yvonne Burton and Brenda Dawson elected in May 2019 will serve until May 2022. Any earlier changes to this will require a request to the parish council from the trustees.
- 10.4. **APPOINTMENT OF TWO TREE WARDENS** Stuart Smith proposed (seconded by Rob Christie) David Pilch and Richard Codling continue in this role. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.
- 10.5. **APPOINTMENT OF TWO FOOTPATHS WARDENS** Sarah Dhesi proposed (seconded by Rob Christie) Yvonne Burton & Patricia Dolamore are appointed as the two village footpath wardens. The council unanimously approved this proposal. The council wished to thank Peter Mackness for his long service as a footpath warden and all the time he has put into this role.
- 10.6. APPOINTMENT OF TWO ALLOTMENT REPRESENTATIVES ATTENDING THE BAA/COUNCIL WORKING PARTY Mary Moxon proposed (seconded by Yvonne Burton) Pat Wilson and Sarah Dhesi continue in this role. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.
- 10.7. **APPOINTMENT OF TWO LOCAL AUTHORITY CLUSTER REPRESENTATIVES –**Yvonne Burton proposed (seconded by Pat Wilson) Stella Shackle, Joseph Scholes and Stuart Smith are appointed to this role. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.
- 10.8. **APPOINTMENT OF A BLOFIELD CHURCHYARD REPRESENTATIVES** Stuart Smith proposed (seconded by Sarah Dhesi) Joseph Scholes and Stella Shackle continue in this role. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.
- 10.9. **APPOINTMENT OF MARTYS MARSH REPRESENTATIVES –** Stuart Smith proposed (seconded by Stella Shackle) Yvonne Burton, Sarah Dhesi, Rob Christie and Joseph Scholes are appointed to this role. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.

11. FINANCE APPOINTMENTS

- 11.1. **ELECTION OF A FINANCE CHAIR** Rob Christie proposed (seconded by Stella Shackle) Stuart Smith continue in this role. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.
- 11.2. TO APPOINT FINANCE WORKING PARTY AND DATA PROTECTION WORKING PARTY MEMBERS the council unanimously resolved to appoint Stuart Smith, Mary Moxon, Rob Christie, Sarah Dhesi and Sarah Osbaldeston.
- 11.3. **TO APPOINT AN INTERNAL 'FINANCE CONTROL' FROM THE COUNCIL (TO CHECK FINANCES)** Stuart Smith proposed (seconded by Stella Shackle) the council appoint Sarah Dhesi to this role. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.
- 11.4. **TO APPROVE THE COUNCIL'S INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 202021 –** The council unanimously resolved to appoint Sue Lake as the internal auditor for 202021.
- 11.5. **TO APPROVE 4 CHEQUE SIGNATORIES AND TWO ONLINE AUTHORISERS –** Stuart Smith proposed (seconded by Yvonne Burton) Rob Christie (online), Stuart Smith (online), Sarah Dhesi and Stella Shackle continue as authorisers on the bank accounts. The council unanimously resolved to approve this proposal.

12. CLOSE THE MEETING

There being no further business the meeting closed at 7:40pm.	
Signed	Dated