Blofield Parish Council

Minutes of the Annual Parish Council Meeting (APCM) held on Thursday 22nd May 2025 at 7.00pm - 7:30pm.

PRESENT

Stuart Smith, Sarah Dhesi, Yvonne Burton, Joseph Scholes and Sarah Osbaldeston (Clerk) and Eleanor Bannister (Clerk).

1. Welcome and Introduction to the meeting by Chair, Stuart Smith.

2. ELECTION OF CHAIR

2.1. The Council unanimously elected Stuart Smith for the role of chair of the Parish Council. No further nominations were put forward. Stuart Smith was duly elected to chair of the Council for the forthcoming year. Stuart Smith signed the acceptance of office form and took the role of chair for the rest of the meeting.

3. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

3.1. Stuart Smith proposed Sarah Dhesi be elected for the role of vice chair of the Parish Council. No further nominations were put forward. The Council approved the proposal and Sarah Dhesi was duly elected to vice chair of the Council for the forthcoming year. Sarah Dhesi signed the acceptance of office form.

4. TO CONSIDER APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

- 4.1. Will Crane, Stella Shackle, Paul Newstead and Paul Culley-Barber sent their apologies, which were duly accepted by the Council.
- 4.2. No parishioners were present.

5. TO REMIND ALL COUNCILORS TO REVIEW THE NEW LGA CODE OF CONDUCT

5.1. The clerk reminded the Council of their responsibilities as parish councillors that are outlined in further detail in the Local Government Authority Code of Conduct document (approved by the Council in the 7:30pm meeting, item 25).

6. ELECTION OF TWO PLANNING LEADS

6.1. The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Paul Culley-Barber and Paul Newstead as planning leads for the forthcoming year.

7. TO CONSIDER APPOINTING VILLAGE HALL REPRESENTATIVES IF REQUIRED

- 7.1. The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Sarah Dhesi to continue as the Margaret Harker Hall representative.
- 7.2. The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Yvonne Burton as Heathlands Community Centre representative.
- 7.3. The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Stella Shackle & Joseph Scholes to continue as Courthouse representatives.

8. TO APPOINT THE PARISH COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE TRUSTEE FOR HEATHLANDS COMMUNITY CENTRE (MUST BE A PARISH COUNCILLOR / CLERK)

8.1. Yvonne Burton has agreed to take on this role as the Parish Council trustee representative of Heathlands Community Centre once the revised constitution is in place.

9. TO APPOINT THE PARISH COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE TRUSTEE FOR MARGARET HARKER HALL (MUST BE A PARISH COUNCILLOR / CLERK)

9.1. The Council had no nominations for this role.

TO APPOINT A COMMUNITY PROJECT WORKING GROUP 2025/26

10.1. The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Stuart Smith, Sarah Dhesi, Paul Culley-Barber and Paul Newstead to this working group.

11. TO APPOINT A COUNCIL FLOOD REPRESENTATIVE

11.1. The Council agreed to appoint Yvonne Burton as this representative.

12. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES:

12.1. TO NOTE AND APPOINT BLOFIELD FUEL CHARITY TRUSTEES AS REQUIRED

The Council notes that there are currently 3 fuel Charity trustees; Stella Shackle, Stephen Mitchell and Sarah Reynolds who will serve until May 2027. The Council noted that the 4th trustee, David Pilch has retired from his trustee role on this charity on the 2nd April 2025. The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Steven Wales as the 4th trustee to replace David Pilch.

The Council noted that the clerk for the charity, currently Sarah Russen is appointed by the trustees of the charity. The Council noted that the 5th trustee is an ex-officio trustee and is always the rector of parish; soon to be appointed Andrew Tapsell the new rector to the parish.

12.2. TO NOTE THE REVE FOUNDATION AND RELIEF-IN-NEED PARISH APPOINTED CHARITY TRUSTEES TO SERVE UNTIL MAY 2025 (A COUNCILLOR/CLERK/PARISHIONER)

The council is responsible for appointing 2 trustees to this charity on a 3-year term. The council unanimously resolved to appoint Yvonne Burton and Joseph Scholes as trustees on this charity for the next 3-year term, until May 2028.

The council noted that the current Treasurer and Secretary of the charity are standing down after many years of service. These roles, nominated by the Churchwardens of Blofield Church, will be taken on by Martin Tyrer and Rosemary Youngs respectively from the 9th June 2025.

For reference, each charity has 5 Trustees, made up of the Rector of the Parish who is Chair. Two Trustees (who are also the Treasurer and Secretary) appointed by the Churchwardens and the last two Trustees appointed by the Parish Council.

12.3. APPOINTMENT OF TWO TREE WARDENS

The Council unanimously resolved to reappoint David Pilch and Richard Codling as tree wardens for the parish for 2025/26.

12.4. APPOINTMENT OF TWO FOOTPATHS WARDENS

The Council unanimously resolved to reappoint Yvonne Burton and Patricia Delamore as footpath wardens for the parish for 2025/26.

12.5. APPOINTMENT OF TWO ALLOTMENT REPRESENTATIVES ATTENDING THE BAA / COUNCIL WORKING PARTY

The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Sarah Dhesi as the allotment representative for the Council. Clerk (Eleanor Bannister) will support the working party attending meetings and taking minutes.

12.6. APPOINTMENT OF TWO LOCAL AUTHORITY CLUSTER REPRESENTATIVES

The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Stella Shackle, Joseph Scholes and Stuart Smith as the local authority cluster representatives.

12.7. APPOINTMENT OF A BLOFIELD CHURCHYARD REPRESENTATIVES

The Council unanimously resolved to reappoint Stella Shackle and Joseph Scholes as the churchyard representatives.

12.8. APPOINTMENT OF MARTY'S MARSH REPRESENTATIVES

The Council unanimously resolved to reappoint Yvonne Burton and Sarah Dhesi as the Marty's Marsh Representatives.

12.9. **APPOINTMENT OF FARMAN FIELD (WYNGATES AREA 3) REPRESENTATIVES**The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Will Crane and Yvonne Burton as the Farman Field Representatives.

13. FINANCE APPOINTMENTS:

13.1. ELECTION OF A FINANCE CHAIR

The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Stuart Smith as the finance chair for 2025/26.

13.2. TO APPOINT FINANCE WORKING PARTY AND DATA PROTECTION WORKING PARTY MEMBERS

The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Stuart Smith, Sarah Dhesi, Paul Newstead and Sarah Osbaldeston (RFO) as members of the finance working party and data protection working party.

13.3. TO APPOINT AN INTERNAL 'FINANCE CONTROL' FROM THE COUNCIL (TO CHECK FINANCES)

The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Sarah Dhesi to this role.

13.4. TO APPROVE CHEQUE SIGNATORIES AND THREE ONLINE AUTHORISERS

The Council unanimously resolved to appoint Stuart Smith, Yvonne Burton and Will Crane as both cheque signatories and online authorisers for payments. In an emergency only Sarah Dhesi can authorise cheque payments. In addition to the above Stella Shackle is a cheque signatory.

14. CLOSE THE MEETING

There being no further business the meeting closed at 7:30pm.

Signed	Dated